The rationale for preparing a critical edition of Verdi's works is by now well known. The unavailability of printed orchestral scores for some operas, disagreements among performing materials for others, and a proliferation of new scholarship illuminating the complex Verdian source situation all point to the need for a scholarly edition of the complete works of this extremely popular composer. In 1983 the University of Chicago Press and Casa Ricordi began jointly producing scores and other performing materials in a series entitled «The Works of Giuseppe Verdi» («WGV»). Rigoletto was the first volume to appear, followed by Ernani, Nabucco, the Messa da Requiem, Luisa Miller, Il trovatore, Alzira, La traviata, Il corsaro, I masnadieri and Stiffelio; additional titles are in various stages of preparation.

Document Type

Book Chapter

Publication Date


Publisher Statement

Copyright © 2002 Olschki. This chapter first appeared in Verdi 2001: Atti del Convegno internazionale / Proceedings of the International Conference Parma - New York - New Haven (24 gennaio - 1° febbraio 2001).

Please note that downloads of the book chapter are for private/personal use only.

Purchase online at Olschki.