Formally Lithuania is a republic. The national government is composed of three branches-executive, legislative, and judiciary. Lithuania has a stronger presidency than the other Baltic countries and is referred to as a "presidential democracy" that has come to resemble the French system, where the president presides over policymaking and the parliament (Seimas) is weakened by divisions between several parties and factions; however, this strength may be illusory for institutional reasons.

Document Type

Book Chapter

Publication Date


Publisher Statement

Copyright © 2006 Facts On File. This book chapter first appeared in World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties.

Please note that downloads of the book chapter are for private/personal use only.

Purchase online at Infobase Publishing.