Lyle E. Strom


In July of 1993, the Judicial Council of the Eighth Circuit adopted a resolution for the creation of a task force to study and report on the impact or effect of gender in the administration of justice in the Eighth Circuit. Chief Judge Richard Arnold appointed United States District Judge Diana Murphy of Minnesota to establish the Task Force. A task force of thirty members, consisting of circuit, district, magistrate and bankruptcy judges, employees of the courts, representatives from the offices of the United States Attorneys and Federal Public Defenders, attorneys who practice in federal court, and professors of law, was appointed.