Summaries of the Teaching Domain Statements of the 2018 Cook Prize Winners.




Publishing portions of the 2015, 2016, and 2017 Cook Prize Winners' applications in August 2017 and May 2018, respectively, resulted from conversations with Michael A. Diamond (former AAA President and convener of the 2015–2016 Cook Prize Committees) and Terry Shevlin (former AAA Vice President for Research and Publications) at the 2016 AAA Annual Meeting in New York City. We discussed my intent to recognize more fully the contributions these excellent teachers have made to the field of accounting education, as well as the generosity of J. Michael and Mary Anne Cook and the Deloitte Foundation.

Presented below are the compiled portions of the 2018 Cook Prize Winners' applications. I appreciate the help from the three prize winners and from Nancy A. Bagranoff (former AAA President and convener of the 2017 and 2018 Cook Prize Committees), who wrote the “Introduction” section to this year's article. As we look forward to recognizing another group of Cook Prize winners in August 2019, I hope these statements from the 2018 recipients continue to inspire you.

—Valaria P. Vendrzyk

Document Type


Publication Date


Publisher Statement

Copyright © 2019, American Accounting Association.

DOI: https://doi.org/10.2308/iace-10664